When playing back your Storyboard, the default transition between two clips is a ‘CUT’. You have the option, however of using a ‘DISSOLVE’ instead.

Adding a Dissolve transition

To change the transition from a ‘CUT ‘to a ‘DISSOLVE’, do the following:

  1. On the Storyboard, click the ADD TRANSITION icon (+ sign) between the two clips where you’d like to add the dissolve. Once added, the + sign will change to a new icon, indicating that it is now a ‘DISSOLVE’.
  2. Move the Storyboard Time Indicator to a couple of seconds behind the transition point and press the PLAY button to see that the new transition has been applied.

Changing a Dissolve duration

To change the duration of a ‘DISSOLVE’, click on the Dissolve Icon to select it. Then move the Play‐head to the desired out point on the Playback Slider and press the MARK OUT button or move the OUT Point Marker to a new position on the Playback Slider.

Removing a Dissolve transition

To remove a ‘DISSOLVE’, click and drag the Dissolve Icon off the top of the Storyboard or select it and press the ‘DELETE’ key on your keyboard.

Adding a Fade In or Fade Out

In addition to these two transitions, you can also Fade In and Fade out of a clip. You can adjust these options in the Video Settings.