When the camera preview window flashes green and/or purple, this means that preview has been lost temporarily. Don’t worry though… If camera control or preview is lost, the camera will remain in the last triggered state. This means that it will not stop recording if it was recording when the App’s connection was lost.
This issue should be resolved with the latest version of the GoPro App, so make sure that you have updated. In order to properly use the latest version of the GoPro App, you will also need to update your camera firmware.
HERO3+ cameras do not need an update.
If the issue persists, to get preview back, you can try the following:
- Make sure that you’re in range of the Wi-Fi network by checking the Wi-Fi icon’s strength next to the camera in the App. You want the Wi-Fi icon to show at least 2 bars to be sure that you’re within range.
- Tap the preview window to turn it OFF/ON a few times to see if the issue is corrected.
- Close and re-launch the App.